Cyber attack on Sceptics

Last night I noticed JoNova’s site was either not responding at all or was very very slow. Then I read that Anthony Watt’s server had been under attack (A note on my cyber attack and communications). Now I’ve read that Andrew Montford’s site had  problems. Any more?

The weeks before the Salby lecture I thought I was going mad.

I put the notice on the SCEF website for the Salby lecture, went off to Amsterdam thinking I would come back to a lot of emails only to find the server had gone down. No emails, no website. When I did get it back up working, it was somehow delisted from google.

IT THEN HAPPENED AGAIN.

Can it be any coincidence that all this is happening as the parties to the (defunct) Kyoto treaty are meeting in the most sceptic country in Europe to yet again agree to another pointless statement agreeing to to hide the fact that Kyoto died last December and none of them want any replacement?

First they ignore us, then when we win the argument they have to attack us
… and then we win.

This entry was posted in climate. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cyber attack on Sceptics

  1. catweazle666 says:

    “Can it be any coincidence…”

    Once is happenstance, twice is coincidence and three times is enemy action.

    Ian Fleming.

  2. stewgreen says:

    JoNova in Oz – slow
    Watts – confirmed hack
    Montford – slow off but provider off aswell
    SCEF website – 2 X server down delisted from Google (which does happen)
    “Can it be any coincidence that all this is happening as the parties to the (defunct) Kyoto treaty are meeting in the most sceptic country in Europe to yet again agree to another pointless statement agreeing to to hide the fact that Kyoto died last December and none of them want any replacement?”
    – yes it can
    – Though it is not impossible that warmists might make an attack ..I don’t think a conspiracy is supported at the mo
    – BH was down and then comments problem ..but that was the entire provider squarespace ..as on twitter other customers were complaining.
    – There are a large number of hacks going on many based on phishing attacks ..so be careful with emails sending you to pages that request a password etc. However sites have so many ads these days ..that causes problems or it could be clients adblocker progs also causing problems

    • Not sure I would call it “conspiracy” … more like schoolboy pranks – I had more hassle from trick or treaters. However, I can’t help notice that whenever I do anything important I usually end up with server problems. But then again when I’m doing something important the website gets used more than usual and I send and receive more emails than usual. So statistically it is more likely that when you are doing something important that problems will emerge.

      • TinyCO2 says:

        “whenever I do anything important I usually end up with server problems.”

        I do hope it’s not trouble makers but that comment made me laugh. The number of times I’ve sworn at my computer and accused it of being deliberately temperamental because I had something time critical on the go. They’re like animals and sense stress.

  3. TinyCO2 says:

    The sluggishness of Bishop Hill made me wonder the same thing but I agree with stewgreen it could be coincidence, even though there’s another case – Greenie Watch. A website that I visit that serves the most boring, innocuous subject was hacked twice within the space of three months and all the users got spam. The spam was so innapropriate for the demographics of the site it was almost funny.

    Sadly, there’s a lot of it about.

  4. they know that nothing will eventuate in Poland – so sybre attack is the second option

  5. neilfutureboy says:

    Take it as an honour. Previously you had only suffered Mr Connolly’s attentions.

Leave a comment